The 12 domains in the purnell model

Michael Macharia Running head: As such, various initiatives and strategies have become necessary to inculcate cultural sensitivity or competence among health care professionals. Healthcare organizations face the challenges pose by multicultural diversity as well as ethnic and racial disparities among the service providers Campinha-Bacote,

The 12 domains in the purnell model

Purnell Model for Cultural Competence by Larry Purnell 12 Cultural Domains It is not intended for domains to stand alone, rather, they affect one another. Communication Concepts related to the dominant language and dialects; contextual use of the language; paralanguage variations such as voice volume, tone, and intonations; and the willingness to share thoughts and feelings.

Nonverbal communications such as the use of eye contact, facial expressions, touch, body language, spatial distancing practices, and acceptable greetings; temporality in terms of past, present, or future worldview orientation; clock versus social time; and the use of names are important concepts.

Purnell Model - National Association of School Nurses

Family roles and organization Concepts related to the head of the household and gender roles; family roles, priorities, and developmental tasks of children and adolescents; child-rearing practices; and roles of the ages and extended family members. Social status and views toward alternative lifestyles such as single parenting, sexual orientation, child-less marriages, and divorce are also included in the domain.

Workforce issues Concepts related to autonomy, acculturation, assimilation, gender roles, ethnic communication styles, individualism, and health care practices from the country of origin. Bicultural ecology Includes variations in ethnic and racial origins such as skin coloration and physical differences in body stature; genetic, heredity, endemic, and topographical diseases; and differences in how the body metabolizes drugs.

High-risk behaviors Includes the use of tobacco, alcohol and recreational drugs; lack of physical activity; nonuse of safety measures such as seatbelts and helmets; and high-risk sexual practices.

Nutrition Includes having adequate food; the meaning of food; food choices, rituals, and taboos; and how food and food substances are used during illness and for health promotion and wellness.

Pregnancy and childbearing Includes fertility practices; methods for birth control; views towards pregnancy; and prescriptive, restrictive, and taboo practices related to pregnancy, birthing, and postpartum treatment.


Death rituals Includes how the individual and the culture view death, rituals and behaviors to prepare for death, and burial practices. Bereavement behaviors are also included in this domain. Spirituality Includes religious practices and the use of prayer, behaviors that give meaning to life, and individual sources of strength.

Health care practices Includes the focus of health care such as acute or preventive; traditional, magicoreligious, and biomedical beliefs; individual responsibility for health; self-medication practices; and views towards mental illness, chronicity, and organ donation and transplantation.

Health care practitioner Concepts include the status, use, and perceptions of traditional, magicoreligious, and allopathic biomedical health care providers. In addition, the gender of the health care provider may have significance.

Concepts of Cultural Consciousness Variant cultural characteristics: Explanation of the Purnell Model figure. The outer rim represents global society. The second rim represents community.

Get Assignment Help

The third rim represents family. The inner rim represents person. The interior depicts 12 domains. The center is empty; representing what we do not yet know about culture. The saw-toothed line represents concepts of cultural consciousness.

Click on the figure to enlarge. The Purnell model for cultural competence. Journal of Transcultural Nursing, 13 3 Purnell personal email communication, May Purnell / MODEL FOR CULTURAL NURSING / JULY JOURNAL OF TRANSCULTURAL COMPETENCE The Purnell Model for Cultural Competence LARRY PURNELL, PhD, RN, FAAN University of Delaware This article provides an overview of the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence and the assumptions on which the model is based.


12 Domains of Culture BACKGROUND PAPER ON SUSTENANCE & HEALTH (HEALING AND WELLNESS) 1. You are what you eat and what you eat is a reflection of your values and beliefs. The ECFGs use the USAF model for achieving cross-cultural competency (3C).

This model encompasses 12 cultural domains that account for every aspect of a society's cultural identity.

Recent Posts

Cultural knowledge at your fingertips! All ECFGs are now available in our mobile app! Choose a country. Review the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, including the theory, framework and 12 domains.

Write , word Purnell model for cultural competence nursing essay paper exploring the Purnell Model for Cultural Competence. The Purnell Model for Cultural Competence, developed in , provides a constructive framework for culturally assessing a person (Purnell, ).

The 12 domains in the purnell model

Twelve domains make up this model that is common to all cultures prevalent among people. Psychological distress and elevated cortisol secretion promote abdominal fat, a feature of the Metabolic Syndrome.

Effects of stress reduction interventions on abdominal fat are unknown. Forty-seven overweight/obese women (mean BMI) were randomly assigned to a 4-month intervention or waitlist group to explore effects of a mindfulness program for .

Twelve Domains Of Culture Chart | Researchomatic